News

Monday, October 20, 2014

Some believe it could become for environmental science what the Super Collider was for physics.  Its name, N.E.O.N, stands for the National Ecological Observatory Network.  It is a... more

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Posted on ... more

Art Experiments

Monday, September 15, 2014

Artists:

Maggie Goodman

Julia Loman

Phuong Nguyen

Megan Rose

Sandy Williams

September 15 – 30, 2014

University of Virginia's Ruffin... more

Thursday, September 11, 2014

First Person: Joan Strassmann; Surprising altruism and other cooperative behaviors in the microbial world. ... more

Thursday, August 28, 2014

PEMBROKE -- At Mountain Lake Lodge this summer, it's a story of ups and downs.

Following last year's $2.25 million in renovations... more

Friday, August 22, 2014

The University of Virginia’s Mountain Lake Biological Station, located on a remote and nearly pristine mountaintop in Southwest... more

Friday, July 11, 2014
Listening to Nature: A Sound Artist Takes His Place Among Biologists
 
Author:
 
Robert Hull
UVA Today
Media Relations... more

Open House 2014

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

MLBS is happy to announce its 2014 public open house!  Come meet our... more

Jim Riopel Passes Away

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Long-time Biology Department faculty member and MLBS Past Director Dr. James Riopel passed away on Friday morning, May 30, after an extended battle with Alzheimers disease. A memorial service will... more

SEEDS Regional Field Trip Report

Sunday, May 25, 2014

SEEDS Regional Field Trip –Mountain Lake Biological Station, VA

... more

Pages

Organism of the Day

Sunday, June 14, 2015
Sunday, June 7, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014